Menu Close



A COMMITTEE has been formed, in Paris, under the presidencey of M. Stéphane
Mallarmé, and the vice-presidency of M. Auguste Rodin, for the erection
of a monument to Paul Verlaine. The members of the Committee are:
MM. Edmond Lepelletier, Catulle Mendès, Henry Bauër, Raoul Ponchon,
Georges Rodenbach, Comte Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac, Maurice Barrës,
Ernest Delahaye, Alfred Valette, editor of the “Mercure de France,” Léon
Deschamps, editor of “La Plume.” Alexandre Natanson, editor of the “Revue
Blanche.” The treasurer is M. Fernand Glerget; the secretary, M.F.A. Cazals.
I have been asked by M.Mallarmé to act as English representative of this
Committee, and to receive subscriptions, which may be sent to me at the office
of “The Savoy,” Effingham House, Arundel Street, Strand, London, W.C.

                                                                        ARTHUR SYMONS.

MLA citation:

Symons, Arthur. “Note.” The Savoy, vol. 4, August 1896, p. 94. Savoy Digital Edition, edited by Christopher Keep and Lorraine Janzen Kooistra, 2018-2020. Yellow Nineties 2.0, Ryerson University Centre for Digital Humanities, 2019.